## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT C8-98-1335

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

AUG 1 0 1998



## ORDER ESTABLISHING PARENTAL COOPERATION TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, the Legislature at 1998 Minnesota Laws, Chapter 367, Article 1, Section 17, requests that the Minnesota Supreme Court establish a task force to evaluate ways to reduce conflict between parents in proceedings for marriage dissolution, annulment, or legal separation and to study the concept of parenting plans; and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court wishes to honor the Legislature's request for establishment of an advisory task force to carry out such an evaluation;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT the Parental Cooperation Task Force is established.

## IT IS FURTHER ORDERED THAT the Task Force shall:

- 1. Research, evaluate, and make recommendations regarding ways to reduce conflict between parents in marriage dissolution, annulment, legal separation, and paternity proceedings;
- 2. Research, evaluate, and make recommendations regarding the use of parenting plans as a tool for encouraging cooperation between parents relating to their parental obligations, decision-making authority, and schedules for the upbringing of children; as part of its deliberations the Task Force may consider the unofficial engrossment of 1998 H.F. No. 2784, Article 3;
- 3. Research, evaluate, and make recommendations regarding the programs and experiences in other states that have implemented parenting plans; and
- 4. Research, evaluate, and make recommendations regarding the fiscal impact of parenting plans upon parties and the judicial system.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED THAT the following persons are appointed as members of the Parental Cooperation Task Force:

Mary Ackerman Associate Director of National Initiatives Search Institute 376B Summit Ave. St. Paul, MN 55102

Christa Anders Child Support Enforcement Division Department of Human Services 444 Lafayette Road St. Paul, MN 55155-3846

Hon. Paul Benshoof Beltrami Courthouse 619 Beltrami Ave. N.W. Bemidji, MN 56601

Paul Bergstrom Meshbesher & Spense Guardian Ad Litem 1616 Park Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55404

Representative Len Biernat Hamline University School of Law 1536 Hewitt Ave. St. Paul, MN 55104

Representative David Bishop 343 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Suzanne Born Attorney at Law 333 Washington Ave. N., Suite 405 Minneapolis, MN 55401

Bob Carrillo RKIDS, Director of Communications 5408 Clinton Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55419 Hon. Jim Clark 1450 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 West Kellogg Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55102

Representative Andy Dawkins 409 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Jacquelin Evans Guardian Ad Litem Services, Inc. P.O. Box 224 Newport, MN 55055

Senator David Ten Eyck G24 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155

Rosemary Frazel Director of Public Policy Children's Defense Fund 550 Rice Street, #205 St. Paul, MN 55103

Guadalupe Alba-Guintero Life-Work Planning 201 North Broad Street, Suite 100 Mankato, MN 56001

Hon. Sharon Hall Sherburne County Gov. Center P.O. Box 318 Elk River, MN 55330

Hon. William Howard C-12 Hennepin County Gov. Center 300 South Sixth Street Minneapolis, MN 55487 Eileen Hudon Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women 450 n. Syndicate Street, Suite 122 St. Paul, MN 55104

Carol Jensen Court Administrator Swift County Courthouse, Box 110 301 14<sup>th</sup> Street N. Benson, MN 56215

A.M. "Sandy" Keith Dunlap & Seeger 206 South Broadway, Suite 505 P.O. Box 549 Rochester, MN 55903-0549

Steve King Cooperation for the Children 6560 Ramsey County Gov. Center West 50 West Kellogg Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55102

Senator Sheila Kiscaden 135 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Senator David Knutson 100 Ames Business Center 2500 West County Road 42 Burnsville, MN 55337

Ronald Longtin Court Administrator Stearns County Courthouse P.O. Box 1378 St. Cloud, MN 56302

Alice Lynch Black, Indian, Hispanic & Asian Women in Action 122 West Franklin, Suite 306 Minneapolis, MN 55404 Hon. Leslie Metzen Dakota County Judicial Center 1560 W. Highway 55 Hastings, MN 55033

Mindy Mitnik Uptown Mental Health Center 2344 Nicollet Ave, Suite 120 Minneapolis, MN 55404

Dr. C. L. Moore Pediatric and Family Psychology Center 1291 East 7<sup>th</sup> Street St. Paul, MN 55106

William Mullin Maslon, Edelman, Borman & Brand 3300 Norwest Center 90 South 7<sup>th</sup> Street Minneapolis, MN 55402

Iweda Riddley Phyllis Wheatley Community Center 1019 Olson Memorial Highway Minneapolis, MN 55411

Hon. Donald Rysavy Mower County Courthouse 201 First St. N.E. Austin, MN 55912

Charles Thomas Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Serv. 1302 S. Riverfront Dr. P.O. Box 3304 Mankato, MN 56002-3304

Hon. Steven Youngquist Suite 301 West 421 First Ave. S.W. Rochester, MN 55902 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED THAT the Honorable Sharon Hall is designated as Chair of the Task Force.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED THAT the Task Force shall submit the following reports:

- 1. A Progress Report shall be submitted to the Court by December 15, 1998, and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the House of Representatives and Senate Judiciary Committees by January 15, 1999.
- 2. A Final Report shall be submitted to the Court by December 15, 1999, and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the House of Representatives and Senate Judiciary Committees by January 15, 2000.

DATED: August 10, 1998

## **BY THE COURT:**

Blatz

Kathleen A. Bla Chief Justice